Geography: Unguja is a hilly island, about 85 kilometres (53 miles) long (north-south) and 30 kilometres (19 miles) wide (east-west) at its widest, with an overall area of about 1,666 square kilometres (643 square miles). It is located in the southern half of the Zanzibar Archipelago, in the Indian Ocean, about 59 kilometres (37 mi) south of the second largest island of the archipelago, Pemba. Unguja and mainland Tanzania are separated by the Zanzibar Channel.

Unguja is the main island of Zanzibar and it is wehere the capiltal city is located. It is surrounded by a number of small islands and islets, with only two of them, Tumbatu and Uzi, being inhabited. Other minor islands around Unguja include Bawe, Chapwani, Changuu, Chumbe,Kwale, Latham, Mautani, Miwi, Mnemba, Mwana wa Mwana, Nianembe, Popo, Pungume, and Ukanga.

Politics Unguja and the surrounding islands are divided in three regions: Unguja Central/South (capital: Koani), Zanzibar North (capital: Mkokotoni), Unguja Urban/West (capital: Zanzibar City).

Population The population of Unguja is estimated to be a 60% of the whole population of Zanzibar which is currently estimated to be 1.5 millin people. The Unguja population is mostly concentrated in the Unguja urban region. The main settlement on the island is Zanzibar Town,which includes among other areas the Stone Town. The Stone Town serves as a capital for Zanzibar.

Economy Unguja is the island of the Zanzibar Archipelago that has the most developed tourism industry. This accounts for a substantial part of Unguja's economy. Agriculture (including the production of spices such as cloves) and fishing are other relevant activities. All along the east coast, most villages also rely on seaweed farming.